Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned but not alone

In a post created specifically for this challenge, share a photo that shows us abandoned.

via Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned.

How does it feel to be abandoned?

Being abandoned is the feeling of being

dumped,

ditched

deserted

forsaken

jilted

and

stranded.

A person who is abandoned may feel all alone but do not despair for God is watching over you.

Anything that is abandoned goes to ruin but there is value in ruins, at least they get photographed and labeled as tourist attractions.

I share below 3 photos of Abondoned Places extracted from

The 38 Most Haunting Abandoned Places On Earth. For Some Reason, I Can’t Look Away…

These real life ruins offer an eerie glimpse into a world without humans. Their dark walls inspire a sense of wonder like I’ve never felt before.

Ryugyong Hotel – Pyongyang, North Korea

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERASource: wikipedia.org The Ryugyong Hotel is a true display of North Korea’s madness. Work started on this 105 story hotel only a few years before a massive famine plagued the country. Abandoned for 16 years, work once again began in 2008, when it was coated in $150 million worth of glass.Foreign guests have reported that although the structure now looks complete on the outside, a lot of the interior is still abandoned and incomplete.

Source: dailymail.co.uk

Sanzhi UFO Houses – San Zhi, Taiwan

1.Source: picc.it These homes were intended to be sold to U.S. military officers when construction began in 1978. In 1980, work was halted due to loss of investment.

Source: wikipedia.org

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned but not alone

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned | Elämän katupeili

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned (Statues) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Cretan bush fire photo – DPchallenge | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  4. This is one of my favorite subjects and you did a nice job of capturing it, although from a totally different angle from most I’ve visited. Those top two photographs are really wacky looking. I couldn’t imagine living in either one of them, or even visiting the hotel.

    As for me, for this theme I would normally go after old abandoned farm houses and barns, but this time I decided to do something a little bit different. You’re welcome to come and see my take on the matter. 🙂
    http://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/weekly-photo-challenge-abandoned/

    Like

    • Hi Cris, Yes I totally agreed I approached this topic from a different angle. Will check out yours. Thank you for visiting.

      Like

      • It’s always fun visiting just after a new photo challenge. That’s about the only time I have to do it. I love your avatar, by the way. Any chance you could tell me where you got it. I’ve love to include it on my screensaver. 🙂

        Like

      • Hi Cris, I cannot remember where I loaded it from. It was from one of those free sites and I am not sure if they have it in a big layout as wallpaper or screensaver format. 🙂

        Like

      • It’s okay. As it turns out, I was able to backtrack your avatar, make a screen print and put it into the clipboard.

        An old photo editing program, which doesn’t work very well under Windows 7, was able to get the image from clipboard and I was able to save the screen print to the desktop.

        Sadly, Microsoft Paint and two other much newer photo editing programs were not able to do this.

        Once the screen print was on the desktop, I was able to crop it in another photo editing program. It turns out that your avatar is a decent size—424×422 pixels.

        And it read/shows up very well. Thank you very much. 🙂

        Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Abandoned | Joe's Musings

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Humbly Abandoned | Humbled Pie

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: More Abandoned | Humbled Pie

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned | Through the Eye of Bastet

I would love to hear from you.

