Looking for friends locally?

Click here to check out a Meetup group near you.

When my last relationship failed, I decided to give up dating.  I wanted to be alone, not by choice but by circumstance.  I decided then after that failed relationship that I have to learn to be independent, while being alone, yet still being able to enjoy and do the things I want to do.

I gave up on dating sites and I honestly cannot recall how I stumbled upon meetup.  It was one of the best gift that happened to me.  I became a member of the meetup group but most activities happened quite a drive from where I live.  I attended a couple of meetups and then decided I wanted to be in control, to be able to go out as and when I want to and not have to drive miles and miles away to enjoy an evening.  I started my own meetup group with the objective of hanging out with like minded people that live in the same area.

Today, my meetup is almost one year old.  I am not looking at being an organizer of a huge meetup group.   I believe in quality rather than quantity and I am very happy to say that we have formed a very close knitted group in our local community and it is such a blessing especially for women (or men for that matter) who thought they would be suffering, feeling sorry for themselves from a broken relationship, withdrawn and hurt.  While it hurts from broken relationship, the hurt is not going to be forever as long as you do not allow it to control you.  Life is more valuable than to sit and drown in sorrow, feeling sorry for yourself.

Get out, feel and sunshine on your skin (or play with the snow) whatever is the season.

Life is a breeze, enjoy it while it last.


Are you a member of a meetup group?
If not, look up one near you.  I would love to hear of your experiences.
Friendship makes the world goes round.
flowers

Meetup is the world’s largest network of local groups. Meetup makes it easy for anyone to organize a local group or find one of the thousands already meeting up face-to-face. More than 9,000 groups get together in local communities each day, each one with the goal of improving themselves or their communities.

Meetup’s mission is to revitalize local community and help people around the world self-organize. Meetup believes that people can change their personal world, or the whole world, by organizing themselves into groups that are powerful enough to make a difference.

For more about meetup check it out here http://www.meetup.com/about/

Image
Image credit Precious Moments

I would love to hear from you.

